Welcome to Sichuan Agriculture University (SAU)

    Sichuan Agricultural University (SAU), founded in 1906, is a comprehensive university under the National Project 211 and Double First-rate Plan in China with a predominance of bio-technology and agricultural sciences. SAU consists of 26 colleges and 16 research institutes, which cover a variety of academic fields such as Agronomy, Sciences, Engineering, Economics, Management, Medicine, Liberal Arts, Education, Law and Fine Arts.Doctoral programs are available in 48 fields, master programs in 87 fields and bachelor programs in 91 subjects. In addition, 7 Post-doctoral Research Centers are well equipped. SAU has more than 3600 faculty members, among them 357 professors and 570 associate professors, 253 doctoral supervisors and 714 master's supervisors. There are more than 43,000 full-time students, among them more than 38,000 undergraduate students and near 4,500 Master's and doctoral students.

SAU has outstanding advantages in breeding, cultivation and deep processing of maize, rice, wheat, peanut, cotton, vegetables and fruits, as well as in cattle, sheep, swine, aquaculture etc.. Animal Nutrition and Feeding, Crop Genetics and Breeding, Animal Genetics and Breeding, Preventive Veterinary Medicine are four of national keystone disciplines in China. The 2 disciplines of Agricultural Science and Plant & Animal Science are listed in the top 1% of Essential Science Indicators (ESI) .


SAU has established a long-term and substantive exchange and cooperation relations with more than 60 universities and research institutes from more than 20 countries such as USA, Germany, UK, Canada, Netherlands, Russia, France, Australia, Japan.

SAU is one of the first universities granted the permission by the Ministry of Education to enroll international students at the three levels of bachelor degree, master degree and doctoral degree. All the educational programs are open to international students and a majority of master and doctoral degree programs can be delivered in English. SAU can offer 40 short-term English courses such as Traditional Chinese Veterinary Acupuncture, Wildlife Conservation Progress, Research Progress of Crop Science, International Economics and Trade, etc. The scholarship was set up to attract and encourage more outstanding foreign students to study in SAU. The scholarship students are free from tuition fee and have monthly living allowance ranging from RMB 1400 Yuan to 2000 Yuan.

SAU consists of three campuses: Ya'an, Chengdu and Dujiangyan, covering a total area of about 4500 mu, with 6.25 million volumes (pieces) of literature resources.

Ya'an Campus:  No. 46 Xinkang Road, Yucheng District, Ya'an City.

It is the oldest campus, which has a profound sense of history. The grey-tiled red pillar office buildings and the tree-lined Wutong Avenue all tell about its long history. Ya'an campus covers an area of more than 2200 mu, consists of 12 colleges and 1 research institute, there are more than 16,000 full-time undergraduate students, and more than 600 Master's and doctoral students.

Chengdu Campus: No.211 Huimin Road, Wenjiang District, Chengdu.

Located in Wenjiang District of Chengdu, the best tourist city in China. Chengdu campus covers an area of 600 mu, consists of 10 colleges, 15 research institutes and  centers. The modern agricultural research and development base of SAU, which is 25 minutes drive from Chengdu campus, covers an area of over 2500 mu. It is a comprehensive modern agricultural science and technology park with the core of teaching practice, agricultural scientific experiment and high and new technology research and development.

Dujiangyan Campus: No.288 Jianshe Road, Dujiangyan City, Chengdu

Located in Dujiangyan, the world cultural heritage and the national scenic spot. Small but exquisite, it is close to the world cultural heritage-Dujiangyan Water Conservancy Project. It has a forest farm of over 80 hectares, towering old trees make an extraordinary view. It has 4 colleges, covering an area of more than 1600 mu. There are more than 6,500 full-time undergraduate students.


Next Page